Today, we are more connected than ever and the amount of data we create is only increasing. For example, we produced approximately 1.7MB of data per person every second during 2020. With this amount of data being generated by each of us, network security becomes an ever-relevant topic. 

The data breaches we have had recently, such as the one in 2021 in which hackers posted the personal data of several Facebook users on the internet, and those that have taken place in previous years, affected hundreds of millions of people.

Therefore, the need for knowledge in the field of network security is becoming vital. And due to the high demand and low supply, the opportunities in this field abound, providing good job security and compensation.

Even if the demand is high, though, this does not mean that anyone can be part of this field. Before one moves into network security, they need to acquire knowledge about various tools and the skills to use them.

Becoming certified in network security can make you an asset for a company trying to improve the speed and quality of this process. Network security certification gives you the know-how for such work and makes employers more confident in your abilities.

Let’s take a look at some of the top certifications in this field.

Cato Networks SASE Expert Certification

Cato Networks SASE Expert Certification

Nowadays, most of the digital infrastructure has moved to the cloud. Even if the cloud is the more modern and preferred tool to manage almost any digital product, it is not without its problems. When you have to use and manage a wide range of cloud solutions in a project, it can become overwhelming, especially if they come from different providers. 

Cato Networks, the world’s first SASE platform, offers this SASE Expert Level 1 Certification, a network certificate proving the owner’s knowledge in this new architecture. SASE is a new type of architecture that converges different cloud solutions into a global service that unifies everything.

The key features are as follows:

  • You will acquire knowledge in architecture for new enterprise perimeters.
  • You will learn how to do architecture migrations to this new cloud solution and how to integrate point solutions using the SASE way, using the best practices in cloud security architecture, design, and operations.

CompTIA Network+

CompTIA Network+

Before you create a secure network, you need to understand what a network is and how it works. An entry-level certification, Network+, offered by Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA), gives you precisely this. In other words, completing this course will certify that its owner has the knowledge to keep an organization connected.

By the end of the course, you will have learned the following:

  • You will learn how to design and implement functional networks and configure and manage the existing essential network devices.
  • You will know how to assess the usefulness and limitations of existing network configurations and the knowledge to segment network traffic and create strong networks.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+

Once you have learned everything about networks, you need to take your learning to the next step by learning about security. Security+ is another entry-level global certification offered by CompTIA that caters to those who want to learn the necessary baseline skills to perform core security functions.

The lessons focus on different threats and vulnerabilities on the internet from newer custom devices and embedded devices as well as popular DDoS, social engineering, and phishing attacks and how to mitigate them. You will also acquire the core technical skills in risk management, incident response, cryptography, and enterprise networks. 

Although it is an entry-level certificate, it is recommended, but not mandatory, that you complete the CompTIA Network+ course and have two years of experience in security-related IT administration.

Certified Ethical Hacker

Certified Ethical Hacker

Ethical Hackers, also known as white hats, are IT security professionals who use their expertise to penetrate systems and find vulnerabilities to improve the system. They are usually active in bug bounty programs, or they are hired as consultants by different businesses and organizations to find and mitigate weaknesses in their systems.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) is an intermediate-level certificate offered by the International Council of E-Commerce Consultants (EC-Council). The lessons in this course focus on different kinds of hacking—SQL and command, gaining access with brute force dictionaries, user privilege escalation, and many more—focusing on the latest techniques that are in use.

Certified Information Security Manager

Certified Information Security Manager

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) offers CISM, an advanced network security certification. This certificate is for those who want to learn how to manage, develop, and audit security systems in enterprise-level applications.

This certificate provides a comprehensive understanding of the following skills:

  • how to identify IT risks
  • how to assess IT risks
  • how to respond to and mitigate risks
  • how to monitor and report risks

This course is best suited for those who already have experience in this field and want to improve their skills and gain more advanced learning. Therefore, those who wish to join this certificate must meet the following requirements:

  • They should have passed the CRISC exam within the last five years.
  • They should have relevant full-time work experience in the CRISC Job Practice Areas.


Network security is a growing field, with an increasing number of connected devices and data generation becoming a part of our daily lives. This field needs people with knowledge in network security who can help prevent attacks that can endanger users.

Even if you already have the necessary knowledge or want to start from scratch, such certificates can help you acquire the required knowledge faster.