As per the report by Ed-tech platform Great Learning, the global requirement of cloud computing professionals is increasing and expected to produce over a million jobs by 2022. According to Jigsaw Academy, cloud technology is growing at an additional 5-10% rate from the expected Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 30% due to the massive transition to digital platforms.

All these statistics indicate that the upsurge in the user base in pandemic has made Cloud Computing stronger. It is one of the rare sectors that saw a rapid increase in the number of jobs added, even during the pandemic. To secure a career in cloud computing, professionals enrol informal programs that can teach them about the basics that can help drive technical architecture, design, and delivery of cloud systems. If you are sailing in the same boat, do not miss reading this blog as we are talking about the best available cloud computing certifications out there. Read on to know more.

Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect

Counted among the highest-paying IT certifications in the United States, the certification covers the skills and knowledge professionals need to work with Google Cloud technologies in the enterprise. To complete this certification, you need to pass an examination, covering questions that will test your ability to design, develop and manage scalable and secure business solutions in the cloud. The assessment includes topics like designing, planning, managing, provisioning and implementing cloud architecture. You will be tested on how to design cloud applications and services with compliance in mind. You can prepare for the examination with the help of the following resources:

  • Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure
  • Architecting with Google Cloud Platform: Infrastructure
  • Architecting with Google Cloud Platform: Design and Process

AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate

The assessment is for professionals who want to apply for a solutions architect role and have at least a year of experience in designing a cost-efficient, fault-tolerant and scalable distributed systems on AWS. Through this certification, AWS validates the learner’s knowledge of application architecture. Your ability to provide a solution, based on customer requirements, will also be tested to complete this assessment.

Before taking this examination, it is recommended to have hands-on experience with relevant AWS products and services. You should have a look at the exam guide, sample questions and other examination resources.

Microsoft Certified: Microsoft Azure Fundamentals

Designed to validate a learner’s knowledge of cloud concepts and Microsoft Azure, this assessment covers topics such as fundamentals of cloud concepts, Azure pricing SLAs and lifecycles and core Azure services. To complete this assessment, you will have to work on topics such as networking, storage, compute, application support, and application development. This certification is for candidates who are just beginning to work with cloud-based solutions and services or are new to Azure. Do note that this certification does not expire, so do not worry about any recertification examinations.

CompTIA Cloud+

This vendor-neutral examination is for professionals who want to validate their existing cloud skills, required to maintain and optimize cloud infrastructure services. The curriculum of this examination covers several relevant vendors so that you can get a larger picture of cloud infrastructure services. Applicants’ knowledge on configurations, deployment, management of cloud resources, maintenance of systems, security and troubleshooting will be assessed through this exam.

Do note that an experience of 2-3 years in system administration is recommended before taking the exam. Great Learning’s PG Program in Cloud Computing can help you to prepare for this examination. As a beginner, if you want to understand cloud computing fundamentals and prepare for other certifications, do apply for the PG Program in Cloud Computing.

Certified Cloud Security Professional (CSSP)

Offered through the International Information System Security Certification Consortium (ISC), this certification will test your ability to design, manage and secure applications, infrastructure and data in the cloud. This certification examination includes questions related to cloud concepts, architecture, design, security and risk and compliance. The CSSP certification is ideal for professionals working as an enterprise architect, security administrator, systems engineer, security architect, systems architect or security consultant in cloud technology.

Before applying for this examination, a professional should have at least five years of IT experience, including three years in information security. It will be ideal to enroll in a training course to prepare for this examination.

If you want to fortify your cloud expertise, then these are some of the certificates to consider as they can positively affect your career. Whether you are thinking of learning cloud computing, securing a job in this field, or want to take your next step in a cloud computing career, there’s a certification that can help get you where you want to be. If you are aware of any other certification that can give you an edge over others in the field of cloud computing, let us know by commenting below.